GCA National Sprint Championships
9 Days
To Go
27 Aug
Wentworth Park
Avg race time30.17
Avg 1st section5.33

Welcome to the home of the Nationals 2022 in Sensational Sydney.

Each year Greyhound Clubs Australia stages the National titles, with championships for both the country’s best sprinters and best stayers. 

The Nationals are held around the country on a rotational basis. Heats and finals are staged in each State and New Zealand, with the respective winners gaining a berth to compete at the National Finals in that year’s host city.

Like many things across the globe, the National Championships were impacted greatly by COVID-19, and as a result the titles were unable to be staged in 2020 or 2021. 

The last time the Nationals were held was in 2019 in Perth when Reidy’s Runner took out the Distance title and local Premium Share defeated NSW star Good Odds Harada to win the Sprint Championship.

The first National Sprint Championship was held at Sydney’s Harold Park back in 1965 and won by NSW sprinter Best Sun.

Across the years the event has been claimed by some of the absolute superstars of the industry, including: Temlee (1974), Acclaim Star (1979), Winifred Bale (1983) Sandi’s Me Mum (1989 & 1990), Flying Amy (1995), Rapid Journey (1998), Chica Destacada (2014) and Fernando Bale (2015).

The first National Distance Championship was also held in Sydney, this time at Wentworth Park in 1969 and was won by Victorian Amerigo Lady.

Among the distinguished names on the honour roll are: Dotie Wilson (1975), High Intensity (1988), Boronia Blossum (1995 & 1996), Dashing Corsair (2011), Miata (2012), Fanta Bale (2017) and Tornado Tears (2018).

While the two finals are the pinnacle, the Nationals are more than just racing events, it is a three-day greyhound industry extravaganza.

Among the events across the three days in “Sensational Sydney” will be a Symposium which will be a free event where morning and afternoon tea, as well as lunch, will be provided, with the all-day event consisting of guest speakers, presentations and panel discussions on this year’s topics which are: The Use of Technology in the Industry, and Media Presentation of Racing.

The Symposium will be held on Thursday, August 25 at the National Maritime Museum Theatre in Darling Harbour.

That evening guests can also partake in a Welcome to Sydney Harbour Cruise and details can be found on this website.

On Friday, August 26, there will be a number of invitation-only industry meetings, then greyhound racing’s Night of Nights will take place when the Greyhound Clubs Australia Gala Dinner is held at the Hyde Park Doltone House to celebrate the achievements of the greyhounds and participants from the 2021-22 racing season.

The Greyhound Of The Year, Sire Of The Year, Trainer Of The Year, Paul Wheeler Dam Of The Year, and the Run Of The Year will all be presented, along with the Hall Of Fame Inductees and the Denise Fysh Award.

Then on the morning of Saturday August 27, the National Straight Track Championship will be held at Richmond before all roads will lead that night to Sydney’s Wentworth Park for the finals of both the National Sprint and National Distance Championships.

Details for accommodation packages and all other events can be found under the tabs on this website page.