Paws Of Thunder

GRNSW Super Series of Group 1 Racing continues

By TheDogs
It is one of the biggest nights on the greyhound racing calendar with not one, not two, but three Group 1 events to be held at Wentworth Park.

The GRNSW Super Series continues which encompasses all the upper echelon of NSW feature events including the TAB Million Dollar Chase, the Ladbrokes Golden Easter Egg, and the Ladbrokes Paws Of Thunder to be run on January 22 with full broadcast coverage on

The Paws of Thunder - originally known as the NSW St Ledger - has a long and prestigious history in the industry.

Run for the first time in 1957 and won by Idle Sign, the race had a name change in 2001 and at the same time attained Group 1 status.

Like so many of the features on the calendar it has been won by some of the greats of the sport. Black Top won the race in 1962, Zoom Top in 1968, Glider’s Son in 1980, Winifred Bale in 1982, Cindeen Shelby in 2009 and Lochinvar Marlow in 2010.

Who will it be in 2022?

But one great feature is not enough for Super Series night. Two outstanding age classics which also carry Group 1 status, are also on the card: the National Derby for the boys, and the National Futurity for the girls.

First held in 1963, the inaugural National Derby was taken out by Keen Linen, with the connections receiving £1500, for winning what was the richest greyhound race in the country.

The Derby has been won by some of the champions of the sport including Roman Earl (1966), General Jeff (1980), RAPID SUPREME (1985), and Worth Doing (1989), and the great Fernando Bale in 2015.

Last year the win of Zipping Moose capped an amazing night for owners Marty and Fiona Hallinan and young trainer Luke Adams.

Earlier in the evening the group won the National Futurity with Zipping Moose's sister, Zipping Sapporo

Like the National Derby, the National Futurity is steeped in history, having been first run in 1964 as an event for bitches to complement the Derby. The first winner of the National Futurity was Cultured Girl.

Some of the brilliant females to have won the Futurity include Promises Free (1982), Winifred Bale (1983), Turbo Top (1984), and Striker Light (2017).

This night is sure to be the night of nights for greyhound racing fans.