Richmond Derby
Avg race time30.92
Avg 1st section5.35
The Richmond club hold two major feature events every year, the Richmond Derby and Richmond Oaks, and both events have long and illustrious honour rolls.

The Derby was first run up the straight over 320 yards in 1957 it then changed to a grass circle over 537 metres in 1974. When the track became loam in 1999, the Derby commenced racing over 535 metres.

Among the winners over the years are: Peter Glider (1982), a dead heat between Bindall’s Hope and Creamy Koko (1984), Rapid Supreme (1985), Stately Bird (2000), Cyrus The Virus (2003), and Hone In (2018).

In 2020, promising young Queenslander Oh Mickey added the Richmond Derby to his success earlier in the year in the Group 1 National Derby at Wentworth Park.