Ladbrokes Peter Mosman Opal (G1)
220 Days
To Go
Wentworth Park
Avg race time30.34
Avg 1st section5.52
The Peter Mosman is the second oldest event on the NSW greyhound racing calendar, with the age restricted series first run back in 1952 at Harold Park as the Bi-Annual Classic.

In 1988 the race was renamed the Peter Mosman to honour the chairman of the Greyhound Breeders Owners and Trainers Association who had passed away the previous year.

The race has been won by some of the great sprinters in Australian racing including Brother Fox (1985), How’s The Fort (1992), Xylia Allen (2013), Fernando Bale (2015) and Mister Twister (2017).

In 2019 the Peter Mosman became the Peter Mosman Opal, an age event for bitches, which was taken out by Victorian Start A Riot. 

2022 Winner

2022 Ladbrokes Peter Mosman Opal Winner - Embrace Craig Chappelow, 2nd Lightnin' Ethics Peter Rodgers, 3rd Spring Elegance Joshua Board

2022 Ladbrokes Peter Mosman Opal Winner - Embrace Craig Chappelow

2020 Winner

2020 Peter Mosman Opal - Lilly Banner Barry Gibbons

In 2021, the race had to be postponed due to the COVID-19 lockdown in Sydney. It wasn't lost however and instead of its regular July timeslot, the race was scheduled for October.

There were several chances according to punters after the heats but when the final rolled around, it was an upset win for Light And Lily, trained by Jordan Tweddle, giving him his first Group 1 victory, on the day of his 42nd birthday.

In was another upset win in 2022 when the Craig Chappelow-trained Embrace took out the Peter Mosman Opal.

Embrace gave Chappelow - whose family have been in greyhound racing for almost a century - his maiden Group 1 success.

The closest he had previously come to winning a Group 1 was back in 2013 when his greyhound Frosty Vintage finished fourth to Belfast Johnny in the Vic Peters Classic.