NSW National Sprint Final
253 Days
To Go
Wentworth Park
Avg race time30.01
Avg 1st section5.53
Greyhound Clubs Australia conduct the National Sprint and Distance Championships annually. State heats and Finals are staged in each State. The venue for Grand Finals is rotated around the country, with Perth hosting the 2019 Nationals.

The NSW Sprint Championship is held annually at Wentworth Park, and naturally, considering the prestige of the event, it has produced some smart winners over the years.

Some of the NSW winners over the years have been Acclaim Star (1979), Fast Sapphire (1980), Winifred Bale (1983), and Rapid Journey (1998).

In 2014 the Doreen Drynan-trained Chica Destacada won the NSW title, before heading to Perth and capturing the National title.

In 2019 before he would go on to win the Million Dollar Chase Grand Final, the Frank Hurst-trained  Good Odds Harada took out the NSW title. He too headed to Cannington in Perth, but just came up short of capturing NSW's first National title since Chica Destacada, finishing second to local star Premium Share.

In 2020 due to COVID-19, no National Sprint Championship Final was held, but each state did run their local championship. The winner in NSW was the Mark Gatt-trained Ritza Coen.

Due to restrictions as a result of COVID-19, and the State of NSW being split into two regions - the locked down zone of Greater Sydney, the Blue Mountains, the Central Coast and Wollongong, and the zone outside that area - there were two editions of the NSW National Sprint Championship in 2021.

Again in 2021 there was no National Final because of travel restrictions, so for the second successive year, GRNSW offered the winners of the sprint a direct path through to the semi-finals of the TAB Million Dollar Chase, and despite that event being postponed until 2022, the invitations stand.

The Zone 2 event was run at Bathurst and the title and Chase semi invite was won by Zulu Warlord for Mick Hardman.

At Dapto it was a brilliant all the way win going to the Frank And Tracey Hurst bitch Good Odds Cash.

At just 22 months of age, the postponement won't harm Good Odds Cash, and as Frank pointed out, the Hursts: "Know how to win one," having become instant millionaires in 2019 when Good Odds Harada won the TAB Million Dollar Chase.

Good Odds Cash was tipped by many to defend her NSW title but it was rising star Simply Limelight who stood up and won the NSW Sprint Championship Final in 2022.

In a race which changed complexion on so many occasions, it was Simply Limelight who stormed home late to grab the win and the spot in the National final 10 days later.

Simply Limelight with Peter Rodgers and Pat Breen

Simply Limelight held off a fast finishing Bandit Ned and Ritza Donna to claim the 2022 race

In 2023, it was the Chris O'Brien-trained Modern Swinger who claimed the event after leading from start to finish from the prized Box 1 draw.

The son of Golden Easter Egg finalist Banjo Tifia, and littermate to the exciting Mortified and Quantifiable, held off the Andy Lord pairing of We Don't Share and Screaming Jet to claim a memorable victory for O'Brien.

NSW National Sprint winner Modern Swinger with the winning connections

Modern Swinger claimed the NSW National Sprint final