National Derby
Wentworth Park
Avg race time30.39
Avg 1st section5.48
First held in 1963, the inaugural National Derby was taken out by Keen Linen, with the connections receiving £1500, for winning what was the richest greyhound race in the country.

Run at Harold Park in 1987 while Wentworth Park was renovated, the race again had a change of venue in 2009 to the Gardens in the Hunter Valley.

The National Derby returned to Wentworth Park in 2015, and was won that year by superstar sprinter Fernando Bale.

The Derby has been won by some of the champions of the sport including Roman Earl (1966), General Jeff (1980), Rapid Supreme (1985), and Worth Doing (1989).

The 2020 National Derby was shrouded in drama before the race was run. Favourite for the event, Victorian Simon Told Helen, had to be scratched when he was bitten by a spider in the days leading up the race.

Amazingly, another runner, Here Comes Joe, was also bitten by a spider, and forced to be scratched. Into his box, the one, went first reserve Oh Mickey, who led from box rise to win the Group 1 event.