Ladbrokes Golden Easter Egg (G1)
136 Days
To Go
25 Mar
01 Apr
Wentworth Park
Avg race time30.18
Avg 1st section5.54

Ladbrokes Golden Easter Egg Final
Non-Graded Final 520m (Other)
Finalists from semi finals on 1/4. Includes $1000 Unplaced.
Prize money: $300000 / $66000 / $36000

The Golden Easter Egg is a race that’s been won by some of greatest of all-time and is yearned by trainers all over Australia as the trophy they want to see on their mantelpiece. Hall Of Fame inductees Brett Lee, Bogie Leigh, Paua To Burn, Highly Blessed, Tenthill Doll, Rapid Journey have all been victorious in prior running’s and the most recent winner She’s A Pearl is undoubtedly a superstar, looking to go back-to-back in this years edition.

The heats commence on 25 March 2023, with semi-finals the following Saturday, 1 April 2023 and all roads then lead to the $300,000 to-the-winner final on Saturday 8th April 2023.

The Inaugural Golden Easter Egg was first held at Wentworth Park, Sydney in 1990 over the 520m and has carried Group 1 status since its inception.

The event, which has reigned as the number one race in NSW, commences two weeks prior to Easter each year. Week one comprises heats, the second week sees semi finals conducted, with the series culminating on Easter Saturday night with the $250,000 to the winner final. 

Prior to the introduction of the Million Dollar Chase, the Ladbrokes Golden Easter Egg was the richest race in NSW, and while it has lost that status, it still sits alongside the MDC as the most sought after events in the State.

The Ladbrokes Golden Easter Egg Carnival also comprises other Group and Listed events: the New Sensation, the Magic Maiden, Association Cup, The Ambrosoli and the Ultra Sense.  

The time-honoured Golden Easter Egg has been won by some of the country's best chasers, including Ultra Sense in the inaugural year, Brett Lee, Rapid Journey, Tenthill Doll and in 2019 by Zipping Bailey.

The star of the 2022 Golden Easter Egg heats and semis was the Jodie Lord-trained She's A Pearl who was brilliant in both races running times far superior to her rivals.

When the final came around it seemed only bad luck would stop her, and when he main rival for the lead, Victorian Idolize, literally walked out of the boxes, it was clear the bad luck was not with She's A Pearl.

She took the lead heading around the first turn and was never headed, going on to win in 29.73s, with Good Odds Cash chasing hard to get second and Fantastic Raven running on to grab third.

Like many events in 2020, the Ladbrokes Golden Easter Egg Carnival had to be abandoned due to COVID-19.

In 2021 the series was again delayed after torrential rain hit NSW, forcing a 24-hour postponement of the heats, then when rain continued, the series had to be pushed back a week.

Due to the delay, the final would clash with the Perth Cup heats, and connections of West Australian Tommy Shelby were torn whether to stay or go home for their local feature.

In the end they stayed and what a good decision it was, with Tommy Shelby leading throughout from box 8 in race record time and becoming the Easter Egg first winner from Western Australia.

2021 Golden Easter Egg Winner - Tommy Shelby
2021 Golden Easter Egg Winner - Tommy Shelby

2021 Golden Easter Egg Winner - Tommy Shelby - Steve Withers, 2nd Wow - Danielle Matic, 3rd Baroque Knight - Stephen Keep

2019 Ladbrokes Golden Easter Egg Winner - Zipping Bailey