Casino Cup (G3)
359 Days
To Go
Avg race time28.03
Avg 1st section2.81
The Group 3 Casino Cup on the circle track is much sought after in the region with both locals and border hoppers chasing the cash and the prestige.

In 2017 it was Terra Torra taking out the Cup then the following year the Ryan Newstead-trained sprinter narrowly missed going back to back, when second to Darren Russell’s Fab Fit.

In 2019, having recently won the Lismore Cup, the Terry Jordan-trained Fernando Blaster was chasing the Northern Rivers’ double.

After breaking the track record at Casino in their Cup heats, running 27.08s, in the final there was more history for Fernando Blaster as he stopped the clock at 26.91s, the first dog to ever break the 27 second mark for the 484m at Casino. 

The 2020 Casino Cup was a victory for the locals with Malcolm Ross winning his first Group race when Phantom Bonnie speared out of the seven box and gave little else a chance, defeating a strong field of visiting greyhounds.

2020 Charcoal Inn Casino Cup Winner - Phantom Bonnie

In 2021, all the rage for the final was Steve Kavanagh's Louis Rumble, fresh from winning the Ipswich Cup and then clockng a blinding 27.07s in the Casino Cup heats.

Louis Rumble was also narrowly beaten in the final of the Group 2 Lismore Cup the month prior, by Robert Cooke's Cash View.

At Casino, it was again Cooke, but this time with Aston Titan, who would claim the Cup.

Sent to him to prepare for the event by leading Victorian trainer Anthony Azzopardi, Aston Titan arrived just in time to defeat the leader Proficiency, with Mia Magic running on for third. After a slowish start, Louis Rumble was trapped wide throughout and couold manage only fifth.

In 2022, Mid-North Coast trainer John Thomas knew that win the Casino Cup final, his greyhound Take Two would have to be in front from box rise.

With that in mind he kept Take Two fresh all week leading into the final, doing a "a bit of old fashioned walking exercise".

It worked. Take Two led throughout and held off Group stars Respectability and Louis Rumble to win the Cup final in 27.44s.

While in 2023, Canya Exclusive produced a memorable effort for Michelle Lill to capture his first feature final.